‘Adrian vs. the World’ Is Expanding

ANNOUNCEMENT: I’m incredibly excited to announce that ‘Adrian vs. the World’ will undergo some major changes this month. Now, I’ve taken a lot of pride in being a movie blogger since this whole thing started. I’m happy to have found my niche, but I’m happier to say that I’m expanding this blog’s writing to topics like television, video games, music, even books— that is, if I ever finish the 3 novels I am currently reading because my attention span suuuuuuuccckks.

I’ve written on all of the above before, but a cursory glance at my last 10 posts will show that my content has been strictly film-based. I’d be lying if I said movies were my only obsession, or the only interest shared among my inner circle. Turns out I’m an even bigger dork than you could possibly imagine. Like, this isn’t even close to my final form!

Why the change? Well, I will be unemployed starting this Friday, but I’m sure that’s got nothing to do with this. 😬 (You don’t understand, I need to keep busy or I’ll turn into Ben Wyatt.)

Truth is, last year I experienced something I never thought was possible for me: movie fatigue. The American Psychiatric Association has yet to respond to my queries, but this was a rare condition where I was simply, utterly uninterested in media following the release of giant IPs like Avengers: Endgame, Joker, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, and yes, even Game of Thrones. The coverage and ensuing discourse (myself included) was exhausting to the point that I had to take an unexpected break in movies, and this break allowed for other obsessions to take hold.

My interest in (other) TV shows, music, books, and video games were always there, mind you. But it wasn’t until my little movie sabbatical that I realized how passionate I was in other things, and how much more I had to say. I tinkered with writing game reviews last Fall, which I elected to shelve due to plans of starting a separate gaming blog. Why start another when I’ve got a perfectly functioning one right here? I’m also paying for this domain so…

It’s safe to say video game reviews (along with my first full book review) will be among the new content rolled out this month, and hopefully from here on out! Try not to think of this as a pivot. Though, if this site ever turns into a politics or sports hub then you’ll knowww I’ve sold out.

I’ll of course continue to write about films, that will never change. Movies just won’t be the main focus of ‘Adrian vs. the World’ anymore. I’ve entered a stage in my writing where I’m actively shopping around film essays (which would normally find a home here) as I seek to expand my byline. Any successful publications will be updated on the “Publications” tab above. Who knows, I might even dole out further writing advice for aspiring bloggers and freelancers out there.

My mantra in starting this blog was that as long as one person was reading, I would keep on writing and contributing to this space. Personally, I don’t know why you weirdos have followed me and are still clicking each week or perusing my archives. Nonetheless, I feel very lucky. I’m branching out as a freelancer, but I’ve decided to branch out as a blogger too and thus, I’ll still be here to entertain. Thank you and stay tuned! 🤙

One thought on “‘Adrian vs. the World’ Is Expanding

Leave a comment